Who to follow suggestions on Twitter are based on many factors, including your email or phone contacts (if you have chosen to upload them) as well as patterns from your following history. These suggestions are generated by an algorithm, which means you may or may not know the accounts or find them relevant.
How does Twitter find accounts to suggest?
Twitter’s suggestions for “who to follow” or “people you may know” are based on an algorithm that makes personalized suggestions for you. You may see suggestions based on criterion such as:
- If you’ve uploaded your contacts to Twitter, we’ll suggest you connect with those who already have Twitter accounts.
- If someone has uploaded their contacts to Twitter, and your email address or phone number is included in their contacts, we may suggest you follow them.
- Twitter may also make suggestions based on your location, e.g. the city or country you are in.
- If your Tweets are not protected, we may suggest your account for others to follow based on public information, such as your Tweets and who you follow.
- Twitter may include Promoted Accounts as suggestions for accounts for you to follow.
How do I control suggestions about my account?
Email or phone number discoverability
You can control whether we will suggest your account to someone else who has your email address or phone number in their contacts by adjusting your privacy and mobile settings.
“Who to follow” suggestions based on imported contacts
When you upload your contacts to Twitter, these contacts may appear as suggested accounts for you to follow. Conversely, your account may appear as a suggestion for others to follow. By deleting contacts you have previously uploaded, we will no longer make suggestions based on those contacts, but we may make similar suggestions based on who you already follow.
“Who to follow” is suggesting an account belonging to someone who is deceased.
Please report the account information to Twitter.