Using team accounts on TweetDeck

The team account feature on TweetDeck allows multiple people to use a single account without having to share the password.

Team members log in to TweetDeck with their own Twitter account and can use the team account by visiting theirAccounts tab. Team members can enable login verification on their own accounts, which will keep their account secure (as well as any team accounts accessible through their TweetDeck).

With team accounts, one person manages the credentials, while others can be granted access to the account as admins or contributors:

Owner

  • Manage password, phone number, and login verification settings.
  • Ability to invite others to access the account as admins or contributors.
  • Ability to take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, favorite, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Admin

  • Ability to invite others to access the account as admins or contributors.
  • Ability to take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, favorite, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Contributor

  • Ability to take action on behalf of the team account (Tweet, Retweet, Direct Message, favorite, etc.), schedule Tweets, create lists, and build collections.

Sharing access to a team account

In order to use team accounts, you must log in to TweetDeck with your Twitter account. If you are still using a legacy TweetDeck account, read this article for help switching over.

To start a team account:

  1. Log in to TweetDeck with the account you wish to share access to.
  2. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  3. Find the account you’d like to share access to and click to expand.
  4. Click Team @[username] and type the name or @username of the user you’d like to invite in the Add team member field.
  5. Click Authorize. Once you have authorized someone, they’ll receive an email as well as a notification in their TweetDeck.
Note: The new team member will need to accept the invitation to begin using the account. You can add up to 200 members.

Managing a team account

Only the owner of the team account manages the password, phone number, and login verification settings.

Both owners and admins can manage the team:

To change a role:

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  2. Find the team account you’d like to manage and click to expand it.
  3. Click Team @[username] to open the list of team members.
  4. Find the user whose role you’d like to change and click Change role.
  5. Select Contributor or Admin and click Confirm.

To remove a team member:

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar.
  2. Find the team account you’d like to manage and click to expand it.
  3. Click Team @[username] to open the list of team members.
  4. Select the user you’d like to remove and click Remove from team.
Note: Contributors do not have the ability to manage team accounts.

Joining a team account

When you’re invited to join a team account, you’ll receive an email notification as well as a notification in your TweetDeck account.

To accept or decline an invitation to join a team account:

  1. Click Accounts in the navigation bar. You’ll see the team Twitter account that you’ve been invited to join.
  2. Click Accept or Decline.
  3. If you accept, the team account will now be accessible through the Accounts tab, and you have the option to set it as your default TweetDeck account.

As a member of a team account, you can post Tweets, Direct Message, favorite, and Retweet. You cannot change the password or manage account settings.

Frequently Asked Questions

I don’t want to be invited to join team accounts. How can I change my settings?

You can change your settings to adjust who can invite you to a team by visiting your Security and privacy settings on twitter.com.

I’ve previously given out the password for my team account. How do I manage who now has access?

Log in to TweetDeck and invite the individual accounts you think should have access to the team account. To ensure only the people invited have access, log in to the team account on twitter.com and visit your Apps settings to revoke TweetDeck’s access. This will ensure only the people invited will have access going forward. Finally, change the password for the team account (we do not recommend sharing passwords).

What will happen to my team members if I revoke TweetDeck access to my Twitter account?

Your team members won’t lose access to your Twitter account unless you remove them from the team list in TweetDeck. Revoking access will not affect the list of team members.

What will happen to my team members if I change the password for my Twitter account?

Your team members won’t lose access to the account if you change the password. We encourage you to update the password so that only you (as the owner, or person who manages the account) knows it.

Can I Tweet from a team account without using TweetDeck?

No, you cannot Tweet, Direct Message, favorite, or Retweet from a team account via twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android (unless you are the account owner). Team accounts are only available in TweetDeck.

Can I manage a team account without using TweetDeck?

Team accounts are only available in TweetDeck. To add new members or change the role of existing members, you must log in to TweetDeck.

How do I ensure my team members keep their account safe?

Using the teams feature means that your team members log in to TweetDeck with their Twitter account. This allows them to enable login verification to help keep that account secure.

How can I unsubscribe from email notifications on team accounts?

Twitter sends you email notifications on team accounts when you are invited to join a team account and when someone is invited to one of your team accounts. We think that this is an important notification about your team account status, so there is no unsubscribe option for them. If you wish to stop receiving “you’ve been invited” email notifications because you don’t use a team account, you can change your settings to adjust who can invite you to a team by visiting your Security and privacy settings on twitter.com.

I’m not able to add a particular user to my team. Help!

The user may have privacy settings enabled that prevents them from being added to a team. Talk to the team member to check whether this is the case. They can temporarily disable the setting to accept a new invitation.

For more information on Multi Channel Network’s and Twitter Help please check back weekly or subscribe here.

YouTube Revenue Calculator

$0.45 USD - $4.00 USD

Note: The accepted formula that Auxiliary Mode Inc. uses to calculate the CPM range is $0.45 USD - $25.00 USD.

The range fluctuates this much because many factors come into play when calculating a CPM. Quality of traffic, source country, niche type of video, price of specific ads, adblock, the actual click rate, watch time and etc.

Cost per thousand (CPM) is a marketing term used to denote the price of 1,000 advertisement impressions on one webpage. If a website publisher charges $2.00CPM, that means an advertiser must pay $2.00 for every 1,000 impressions of its ad. The "M" in CPM represents the Roman numeral for 1,000.

$0.00 - $0.00

Estimated daily earnings

$0.00 - $0.00

Estimated monthly earnings

$0.00 - $0.00

Estimated yearly projection

Ready to Stop Content Misuse & Generate Revenue?

Get Started